Beta Disclaimer! Please note that we are currently in our beta test phase and we are updating the site on a regular basis.

Bank Holidays

Share :

What are Bank Holidays?

They are days when, by Royal Proclamation or by the Banking and Financial Dealings Act 1971, banks are entitled to close. “Bank” and “Public” holidays are used interchangeably but they are basically the same thing. They can be specified by Royal proclamation as well as by legislation but the main law is the Banking and Financial Dealings Act 1971.  There are other pieces of legislation including;

There are six bank holidays and two public holidays a year which are;

  1. New Year’s Day
  2. Good Friday (public holiday)
  3. Easter Monday
  4. First Monday in May
  5. Last Monday in May 
  6. Last Monday in August
  7. Christmas Day (public holiday)
  8. Boxing Day

Do I have a Right to Paid Leave on Bank Holidays?

Not unless your contract of employment says you are entitled to be paid. Paid time off can be set-off against your annual leave or can be an extra benefit in your employment contract.  Althougha some employers will pay extra, you have no right to this unless it is part of your terms and conditions of employment. If your employer does not pay your holiday pay, you may have a claim for unauthorised deduction of wages. You must start by raising a grievance.

Last Updated: [11/09/2021]